In February the Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government confirmed his support for plans to create two new unitary authorities in Dorset, replacing the existing nine councils.

One of these unitary authorities would cover the Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole (BCP) area where residents receive services from Bournemouth, Christchurch, Poole and Dorset County councils.

Parliamentary Orders came into force on 26 May and the BCP Shadow Authority and the Shadow Executive Committee take over from the BCP Joint Committee. The committee will be responsible for providing political leadership and guidance towards implementing the new BCP Council.

Members of the Shadow Authority and Executive Committee work together to improve collective decision making.

Read more about theĀ Future Dorset proposal.