Proposed Directors for the new BCP Council announced

In the next exciting step for Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole (BCP) Council, the recommended appointments for the Tier 2 Directors have been announced.

The Senior Appointments Committee has put forward recommendations for Director roles following an internal recruitment process.

Jan Thurgood has been recommended for the role for Director of Adult Social Care. Jan is currently the Strategic Director of People Theme at Borough of Poole.

The committee has recommended that Kate Ryan is appointed to the role of Director of Environment and Community. Kate is currently the Strategic Director of Place Theme at Borough of Poole.

Bill Cotton is recommended as Director of Regeneration and Economy. He is currently Executive Director of Environment and Economy at Bournemouth Borough Council.

Julian Osgathorpe will take up the role of Director of Resources. Julian is currently seconded as Director of the BCP Programme but his substantive post is the Executive Director of Corporate Services across Bournemouth Borough Council and Borough of Poole.

The recommendations will be taken to the BCP Shadow Authority on the 19th December.

The Director for Children’s Services role is currently being advertised externally with a closing date of the 7th December. Interviews for this post are expected to be held in January with a recommendation to be taken to the Shadow Authority in February 2019.

Cllr Janet Walton, Chairman of the Senior Appointments Committee said: “The Committee is delighted to make these recommendations for the Director roles of the new council. We are confident that the recommended candidates will work well with members and the Chief Executive designate to create a strong senior management team as we move through this exciting programme of change and transformation.”

BCP Council is a new unitary council being formed as part of local government reorganisation in Dorset. The nine existing councils will be disbanded and two new unitary councils will come into being from the 1st April 2019.